York

I left Edinburgh at 8am by GNER’s 225 train to York.

Arriving at 10.30am, I enjoyed the National Railway Museum taking almost 3 hours. Their collection was literary huge. This must be the largest railway museum in the world. It’s truly excellent way of spending their tax, I think. (No entrance fee!)

The Japanese Shinkansen (Bullet Train) was displayed beside the Mallard taking large space with good descriptions. I’m happy to see it is one of the museum’s most popular exhibits. (A boy was talking about the “Japanese Train” at the exit!)

After that, I went to the Abbey where I climbed up the tower (275 steps taking 10 mins) and enjoyed the terrific view. It was too a beautiful city to walk around.

Now, I am in the train from York to Oxford, that just has passed Birmingham. The Virgin Train has a plug for laptop computers which is very useful as long as you are sitting on window side seat.

I liked this trip very much, and hoping the next trip will be soon.

Leave a Reply

